You are currently viewing “Squid Game” wins an Emmy

“Squid Game” wins an Emmy

The Netflix series starring Lee Jung Jae, Jung Ho Yeon, Park Hae Soo, and others has just won an Emmy!

The nominations for the 74th Primetime Emmy Awards were revealed on July 12, and ‘Squid Game’ made history! The hit program was nominated for 14 Emmys this year, including an unprecedented nomination for ‘Outstanding Drama Series.’ With its nomination in this category, ‘Squid Game’ has become the first non-English language series to receive an Emmy nomination in this category.

Furthermore, the series’ stars have received a total of five acting awards. They are the first native Korean actors in their respective fields. Lee Jung Jae has been nominated for the award for ‘Lead Actor in a Drama Series’. Meanwhile, Jung Ho Yeon has received a nomination for ‘Supporting Actress in a Drama Series’. Park Hae Soo and Oh Young Su have both been nominated for ‘Supporting Actor in a Drama Series’, while Lee Yoo Mi has received a nomination in the category for ‘Guest Actress in a Drama Series’.

Hwang Dong Hyuk, creator of ‘Squid Game,’ has become the first local Korean creative to receive Emmy nods for drama directing and writing with his two nominations for ‘Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series’ and ‘Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series.’

This year, ‘Squid Game’ was nominated for ‘Outstanding Production Design for a Narrative Contemporary Program (One Hour or More),’ ‘Outstanding Cinematography for a Single-Camera Series (One Hour),’ ‘Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Drama Series,’ ‘Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music,’ ‘Outstanding Special Visual Effects in a Single Episode,’ and ‘Outstanding Stunt

‘Squid Game’ has officially received an Oscar nomination for ‘Outstanding Drama,’ five acting nominations, two nominations for creator Hwang Dong Hyuk, and six additional nominations  ‘Squid Game’ has officially bagged an incredible 14 nominations for this year’s Primetime Emmy Awards. This year’s ceremony is set to air on September 22.

Share this content


Leave a Reply